The Films That Shaped Me (Part 2)

5 Falling Down

20110630-000011.jpg

This film – a surprising turn from Joel Schumacher – was based around a middle aged man who had the weight of the world on his shoulders and could take no more. Seeing this film at an impressionable age had a profound effect on my outlook of the our world, and the societies we live in.

“People suck, government agendas suck and everything’s going to shit etc
etc.”
This was basically what I took from this film – a general feeling of misanthropy and disdain directed at anything that attempts to challenge me as a person and my desires. It may seem a little extreme, but I’d be lying if I said otherwise.

6 Taxi Driver

20110630-001700.jpg

Taxi Driver is certainly the film that I would advise anyone to watch. It’s an amazing study of isolation, dissociation and degeneration through the character of Travis Bickle. Played by my favourite screen actor – Robert De Niro.

I’ve said much before about my passion for this film. So in short I will say this. And hopefully this will give a general idea of what it has done for me.

Taxi Driver turned me from a film watcher, into a film fan.

7 The Big Lebowski

20110630-003218.jpg

I quote this film everyday since the day I first watched it back in 99. That’s the only reasoning required.

8 The Godfather

20110630-003923.jpg

What can I say? It’s the complete movie. Script, cast, score, cinematography, editing, directing. Every single detail is finely tuned to perfection with The Godfather.

This film was more like an epiphany for me – showing me that film is an art form and should be rewarded accordingly. I was sincerely overwhelmed by the whole film. Captivating from start to finish, I cannot find any words to negatively attached to it – if there was
then it would be – it should be longer!

About Scott

Film enthusiast, ranter & writer. Part-time blogger, Atheist, Ex-smoker and Real Human Being View all posts by Scott

Leave a comment